Marriage License

Marriage Licenses are issued Monday through Friday between 8:30 am to 4:00 pm.   

New York State requires a full 24-hour waiting period before the marriage license can be used for a wedding ceremony.  For information about having a wedding ceremony performed by our office, please click here

Each applicant must have

An acceptable birth document

  • Certified Birth Certificate issued by vital records that includes raised seal
  • Naturalization Papers (must be original copy)

An acceptable valid photo identification

  • Valid Driver's License
  • Valid DMV non-driver's ID
  • Valid Passport
  • Valid Military ID

If either applicant was previously married

If the previous marriage ended by divorced, provide a certified copy of the most recent divorce judgment which shows the "FILED AND ENTERED" stamp and date. You will also need to provide the date and location of any other divorces prior to the last one.

If the previous marriage ended by the death of a spouse, provide a certified death certificate that lists you as the surviving spouse.

Documents not in English

If the above documentation is not in English, the document must be translated by a certified translator. Please submit the original document AND the original translation to the City Clerk's Office when applying for the marriage license.


$40.00 payable by cash or $17.50 payable by cash if either applicant is Active Duty Military Personnel

Age Requirements

Under NYS Domestic Relations Law Article 3 Section 15-A, marriage of minors under the age of 18 years old is prohibited.

General Information
Phone Numbers
(315) 785-7780
Fax: (315) 785-7796
Emergencies: Dial 911
245 Washington St.