Planning Commission

The Planning Commission's primary function is to review development proposals for adherence to Zoning regulations, harmony with the Comprehensive Plan, as well as consistency with other adopted City policies and plans. 

The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the City Council on requests for Zone Changes.  The Planning Commission grants final approval on requests for Site Plan Approval, Special Use Permits and Subdivision Approval.

Membership on the commission is by Mayoral appointment.  Each of the commission’s seven members serve staggered seven-year terms.  Residency within the City is a requirement to be eligible for appointment.

Term of Members: Seven-year term appointed by the Mayor

Name of MemberTerm Expires
Maryellen I Blevins6/30/2030
Lawrence J. Coburn6/30/2024
Michelle L. Capone6/30/2025
Lynn A Godek6/30/2026
Linda J. Fields6/30/2027
Peter E Monaco6/30/2028
Timothy J. Babcock6/30/2029


Meetings take place at 6 p.m. on the first Tuesday of every month in Council Chambers at City Hall. Special meetings occur occasionally as needed.

Planning Commission Links:

Planning Department
245 Washington St
Watertown NY 13601
Phone: (315) 785 7741