Planning Board

The Planning Board’s primary function is to review development proposals for adherence to Zoning regulations, harmony with the Comprehensive Plan, as well as consistency with other adopted City policies and plans. 

The Planning Board makes recommendations to the City Council on requests for Site Plan Approval, Special Use Permits and Zone Changes.  The Planning Board grants final approval on requests for Subdivision Approval and Waivers of Site Plan Approval.

Membership on the board is by Mayoral appointment.  Each of the board’s seven members serve staggered seven-year terms.  Residency within the City is a requirement to be eligible for appointment.

Meetings take place at 3 p.m. on the first Tuesday of every month in Council Chambers at City Hall.  Special meetings occur occasionally as needed. 

Term of Members: Seven-year term appointed by the Mayor

Name of Member Term Expires
Timothy J. Babcock 6/30/2029
Neil Katzman 6/30/2023
Lawrence J. Coburn 6/30/2024
Michelle L. Capone 6/30/2025
Lynn A Godek 6/30/2026
Linda J. Fields 6/30/2027
Michael Pierce 6/30/2028

Planning Board Links:

Planning Department
245 Washington St
Watertown NY 13601
Phone: (315) 785 7741